It is well-known that texting while driving contributes to motor vehicle accidents throughout the U.S. every year. Several states have banned the usage of cellular phones in order to curb the rising number of injuries and fatalities caused by this form of distracted driving. If your car accident in Eagan was caused by another person who was texting while driving, contact us today.
The attorneys at ASK LLP will help you get started with your claim. With thousands of cases successfully settled over a period of four decades, we know how to help our clients reach their goals. You shouldn’t have to pay for the damages caused by a negligent driver. Let us assist you in getting the financial compensation you deserve. You can reach our office at (877) 746-4275.
Texting and Driving Is Illegal in Minnesota
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), talking on the phone while driving is banned in 24 states. Texting while driving is banned in 48 states, which is double the amount compared to talking on the phone. This is because texting while driving is inherently more dangerous and takes too much of your attention away from the most important thing while behind the wheel, the road.
In Minnesota, both talking and texting while driving is prohibited. If another driver is doing this, they are breaking the law. This action may automatically put a lot of the fault onto their shoulders. If you can take action against a third-party for compensation, you may find that you will have an easier time proving negligence since the law is on your side.
For a free legal consultation with a texting while driving accidents lawyer serving Eagan, call 877-746-4275
No-Fault Laws in Minnesota
Minnesota is one of the few states in the U.S. that follows a no-fault system. This means that, regardless of whoever caused an accident, an injured party generally looks to his or her own insurance carrier for payment of medical expenses and wage loss related to the accident. Even if the other driver was breaking the law, you would likely need to bring a claim against your own policy to maximize your compensation.
You can still file a claim to hold the at-fault driver liable for your damages so long as you have more than $4,000 in medical expenses, you suffered 60 days or more of disability, or you suffered a permanent injury or disfigurement. The lawyers at ASK LLP can help you understand all aspects of your case and push for additional compensation from the negligent driver if possible.
Eagan Texting While Driving Accident Lawyer Near Me 877-746-4275
Our Lawyers Will Help You Calculate Your Damages
When it comes to calculating your settlement, our lawyers will accurately assess all of the damages you sustained due to a texting while driving accident:
- Lost wages and reduced earning capacity
- Substitute services and assisted living expenses
- Medical expenses, hospital visits, treatments, prescriptions, etc.
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Loss of consortium
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Wrongful death and funeral expenses
We will ensure that no damage gets left out. The goal is to get you the best settlement possible for what happened to you.
Remember to Sue Before the Deadline
The statute of limitations to start a personal injury lawsuit after an accident is six years in Minnesota. Moreover, there are notice pitfalls and policy language traps that might change the general statute of limitations. You have limited time to establish the merits of your claim. Not only do you need to get started compiling evidence, but you also need to fill out forms, complete your medical treatment, and so much more.
This can become quite a headache to deal with while you are injured. It doesn’t help that Minnesota’s no-fault laws make it harder to get compensation after a car accident. We want you to know that you aren’t alone during this challenging time. Our attorneys are ready to help you fight back and get the settlement you need.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
ASK LLP Offers a Free Consultation to New Clients
The team at ASK LLP will never charge any upfront fees or hold you for any hidden costs. We offer a free case review and consultation. You do not have to pay us anything if we cannot recover compensation. There is no risk or obligation involved with scheduling an appointment to speak to one of our attorneys. Do not hesitate to reach out to us today.
Call Us to Get Started on Filing a Claim
You don’t have to be at the mercy of no-fault laws and massive insurance companies. There are other ways you can recover fair compensation. With millions of dollars recovered for our clients, we are here for Eagan residents that have gone through a texting while driving accident. Call our attorneys today and they can help you get started with filing your claim. You can schedule an appointment with our office at (877) 746-4275.